Congratulations to   IEEE Team GEC Thrissur


IEEE Kerala Section Best Student Branch Award 2016-

The Award was handed over by S Gopakumar (past chair, IEEE Kerala Section) to Branch Counsellor Prof. Joseph K D (Dept. Of ECE) and Chairman Swaraj P ( S8 ECE)

   IEEE Kerala Section Best Student Volunteer (Humanitarian) 2016

The Award was handed over by S G Harindralal (chair, IEEE PES  Kerala Section) Nived Johny ( S8 ME) and Shyam Pradeep (S6 EEE)


IEEE Kochi Subsection Outstanding Initiative Award 2016. – Mr. Nived Johny (S8ME)

IEEE Kochi Subsection Special Appreciation Award for Branch Counsellor 2016. – Prof. Joseph K D, EEE

IEEE Kochi Subsection Special Appreciation Award for Student Volunteer 2016. Mr. Swaraj P, S8 ECE

IEEE Kochi Subsection Special Appreciation Award for Student Volunteer 2016. Mr. Swaraj P (S8 ECE) and Mr. Sahaj K (S8 EEE)






Congratulations Arya Murali – WeTech Qualcomm Global Scholarship Winner’

Arya Murali, third year student of Electronics and Communication Department is selected as a WeTech Qualcomm Global Scholar supported by Institute of International Education and is one of the 18 girls from India to receive a scholarship of 5000$ and 6 month one-on-one mentor-ship by professionals. She also leads the Google Women Techmakers,Cochin initiative which is a community that fosters Women in Tech. aryamurali

Congratulations Thejus Hari, the ‘Orator of the Year 2015’ 

 “Thejus Hari, final year B. Tech. student of Chemical Engineering Department has been conferred with the title of ‘Orator of the Year 2015’ by Toastmasters International organisation. The best speaker was identified from numerous public speaking competitions staged across various countries of the Asia – Europe forum. With this achievement, he has made into the book of records for being the Youngest individual in the Indian subcontinent and Europe to receive the title.” 


Congratulations Pooja, Sreelaxmi and Sarath

ieee-threeThe IEEE Region 10 Student, Young Professional, WIE Congress is the flagship event of the IEEE Asia Pacific region. This biannual event this year was hosted by the IEEE Srilanka Section from the 9th to the 12th of July 2015 at Hotel Galadari, Colombo. The selection of delegates for this congress is based entirely on the personnel and the activities volunteered by the IEEE members. It is therefore indeed a matter of great pride that 3 students [Pooja Suresh (S7 ECE), Sreelaxmi CH (S7 ECE), Sarath Chand TP (S7 EEE)] from the IEEE SB GEC Thrissur were selected out of the chosen 25 delegates from Kerala section.
Moreover, the Region 10 Student Activity Committee had requested all participating Student Branches to submit their activity reports from which a chosen 20 would get a chance to showcase their achievements in the congress. The IEEE SB GEC Thrissur proved its mettle by being selected for the same for their innovative ideas and activities. IEEE SB Chairperson, Sarath Chand TP made us proud by presenting the poster which was evaluated by IEEE Vice President Mr. Lawrence Wong and IEEE IAS Chapters and Membership Department Chair Mr. Peter Magyar. The IEEE SB of GEC Thrissur was also awarded a certificate of representation at the closing ceremony for the poster presentation by the Sri Lanka section chair Dr. Ruwan Ranaweera.



GEC Thrissur has won Second prize for Academic Excellence in Calicut University